Update on my next book

Published by

on

I’ve got a bunch of projects in the works at the same time and they all exist in various states of completion and non-completion. For now, I’m only talking about the one most likely to be published in the near future. And no, it is not a sequel to World Heist (although, that is being worked on, so watch out for updates).

I’ve always considered myself a comedic writer but my last two books have been serious stories with the occasional funny moment. With this one, I’m trying to write an overtly comedic book with occasional serious moments. The unofficial title for the project is “Draconis”. It is a urban fantasy murder mystery comedy about an Indian kid that moves to Texas and gets up to all sorts of supernatural and high-school shenanigans. It is very much inspired by the likes of Dresden Files and Secret Seven. It will be far shorter than World Heist but I’m proud of what I’ve written so far and feedback from readers attests that it is, indeed, a thoroughly enjoyable read.

The second draft is being worked on as I speak and you can expect it to come out some time next year, if nothing goes wrong. I’ll provide more updates in the near future when I’m at a more comfortable stage with the quality of the book. For now, I’ll leave you with an excerpt from the first chapter. Peace!

Sanjay sighed as he was lifted off the ground and turned around against his will. He’d seen forum posts about this on the school page so he wasn’t exactly caught off-guard.
According to soywojack_horseman: “My first day of ninth grade, they took my glasses and didn’t give them back for the entire month. I couldn’t find my classroom so I just sat in a random class every day. That’s how I discovered my talent for pottery, basket-weaving, and even met the love of my life in twelfth grade mathematics. We’re getting married after I graduate. 10/10 would get bullied again.”
“Why didn’t you listen when I called you earlier, huh?” The bully yelled.
Sanjay straightened his face to deliver a clever comeback, realized he barely came up to the guy’s chest, and made the advocate decision of lowering his gaze right back down. “Sorry, I didn’t know,” he muttered softly.

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started